Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In

Susan Minarich Options
scott
Posted: Sunday, June 26, 2011 11:35:16 AM
Groups: Member

http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=33291903708&topic=4950

Quote:

Susan Minarich
Hi Laurie (and all Minarichs out there)!

I have some background that might be helpful.

Back in 1982 when I was 13 years old, I went with my parents to a big Minarich family reunion in upper peninsula Michigan (above Wisconsin) in a town called Hermansville.

Back in my great great grandfather's day (circa late 1800s to early 1900s), it was very much a 'family' town with a family-run wood flooring business (i.e. logging, cutting, and finishing). It's my understanding that everyone was even paid in company money in those days, which could not even be used outside of 'town.'

My grandfather Nicholas was born circa 1911 (he never was quite sure of the year he was born!) and was one of some large number of 9(?) kids. I remember writing down the whole family tree that was posted on the wall in the meeting hall where the reunion was being held, but I unfortunately can't find it at the moment. So I'll have to get back on that (hopefully with all of the kids' names - perhaps some of our group members' grandparents or great-grandparents).

Anyways, my great great grandparents were John (Yunko) Mlinaric [this is the correct Croatian spelling with a different pronunciation - will get back to this in a moment] and Mary Kznarich. John was the son of Matthew Mlinaric and Mary Barbitch from Breznick, Croatia (also Yugoslavia). My immediate grandfather was unfortunately orphaned at a relatively young age, and it was his older sister Mary who ensured that the siblings, who were each placed in separate homes, all remained more or less 'in touch' with each other (Mary became a nun at age 15 and became ordained, if that's the right word, as 'Sister Agatha').